Posted by: Generación Latina | April 18, 2014

First Sentence Friday – Austen, Fitzgerald, & Márquez

A great post by my brother, the most avid and passionate reader I know.

From Cover to Cover

Most writers say the first sentence is the most important line in a book. It sets the tone, invites the reader to keep reading or bores him away, and often makes the difference between publication and rejection. As my love of reading, and words in particular, grows, I’ve become more interested in learning what makes a great sentence. This reminds of me of an anecdote in a book about writing sentences where a young, aspiring author meets with a publisher whom he tells he cares about one thing and one thing only: he wants to write great sentences. Not just great books. Great sentences. I love the passion and particularity of that anecdote.

So in this spirit, I’m trying something new here.  On Fridays, I’ll post a few first sentences that strike me as excellent – worth examining as much as enjoying. Hence, “First Sentence Friday.” (Now, if you can…

View original post 149 more words


Leave a Reply

Categories

