Posted by: Generación Latina | July 5, 2008

The sky is sprinkled with fireworks tonight.  We are driving back from Andy’s family in PA and as I look out the window tears roll down my cheeks at the thought of Ingrid’s reunion with her children.  As I was logging the news feed from NBC and Telemundo yesterday I got to see all the amazing footage of their reunification.  It was a self-reflection almost as if I was seeing myself, my brother and mother kiss and hug with longing, tears and joy in their eyes.  I was so moved! It was as if I was seeing my mom and her love for us displayed in this situation.  It couldn’t have been more obvious that Ingrid’s love for her children and her country produced such resilience to overcome so much, to survive and come out stronger than ever.  In the same manner, I was reminded of the ways in which my mother has sacrificed and overcome every difficulty with God’s strength to bring out the best in every situation.

In this moment I praise God for carrying out justice, for enabling this brilliant operation, for reuniting not only Ingrid’s family but those of 14 other hostages, for the Colombian intelligence, for boosting the morale of a people, for debilitating the enemy, for the success of Uribe and for all our Colombian brothers and sisters, we rejoice in your victories!


Leave a Reply

Categories

